2012 Debii Dollar Conant Women’s Tournament & WCT Qualifier a big success

Empire Polo Club Women’s Polo Tournament
By Alex Webbe

Ten teams showed up at the Empire Polo Club in Indio over the weekend to participate in three flights in the 2012 Debii Dollar Conant Women’s Tournament Cup.

Estancia Ventarron teammates (Sunny Hale, Julie Block-Fernandez, Malia McCoy and Kate Weber) took top honors in the A Flight WCT Qualifier in a 9-6 win over Coldwell Banker (Madelyn Cobb, Tiamo Hudspeth, Dayelle Fargey and Abby Riggs), building on a 4-2 halftime score to rout a talented foursome by the final score of 9-6.

Estancia Ventarron received one goal by handicap and watched as Coldwell Banker picked up first chukker goals from Dayelle Fargey and Abby Riggs (penalty goal).  Malia McCoy kept it all een at 2-2 with her first goal of the game.

Two more Estancia Ventarron goals came on a penalty conversion from Sunny Hale and a goal from the field from Kate Weber.  Coldwell Banker was unable to get on the scoreboard in the second chukker, and trailed 4-2 at the end of the first half.

Coldwell Banker fared no better in the third, scoring a single penalty goal from Tiamo Hudspeth while giving up a pair of goals from McCoy and a goal from Hale. Estancia Ventarron rode into the final chukker with a four goal, 7-3 lead.

Sunny Hale ended it in the final chukker with two goals from the field.  Coldwell Banker picked up single goals from Madelyn Cobb, Tiamo Hudspeth and Dayelle Fargey, but fell, 9-6.

Sunny Hale led all scorers with four goals and was named MVP for her efforts.  Malia McCoy scored three times and Kate Weber added a goal.  The team also received one goal by handicap.

Tiamo Hudspeth and Dayelle Fargey scored two goals apiece for Coldwell Banker.  Madelyn Cobb and Abby Riggs added single goals in the loss.

Estancia Ventarron won the Flight A Finals. Kate Weber, Sunny Hale, Alex Haagen, III, Claudia Pistarini, Jeff Kazmark, Malia McCoy, Julie Block and Mike Conant.


The Barrossa polo team (Katie Graham, Kerstie Allen, Abby Riggs and Tiamo Hudspeth) rallied for four goals in the final two chukkers to score a 7-3 win over Coldwell Banker in the B Flight of the Debii Dollar Conant Cup.

Coldwell Banker’s Megan Flynn scored the first goal of the final match with Abby Riggs responding with Barrossa’s only goal of the period for a 1-1 tie.

Second chukker action had Hudspeth converting a 40-yard penalty shot with teammate Allen scoring a goal from the field.  Dayelle Fargey scored a single goal for Coldwell Banker, who trailed 3-2 at halftime.

Two more third chukker goals from Barrossa’s Riggs and Allen were answered by a single goal from Fargey as Barrossa rode out to a 5-3 lead.

A penalty goal from Riggs and a final goal from the field from Allen ended the game with Barrossa celebrating a 7-3 win.

Allen led the Barrossa team with three goals and was named MVP.  Riggs and Hudspeth scored two goals apiece.

Fargey scored two goals for Coldwell Banker.  Flynn scored once in the loss.

Abby Riggs’ Lobo was named Best Playing Pony.

Barrossa won the B Flight Finals. Kerstie Allen, Tiamo Hudspeth, Mike Conant, Abby Riggs and Katie Graham.


Poway (Lizzy Peck, Savannah Broderick, Becky Clark, Blair Palmer, Nancy Louis) registered a three-team round-robin victory to capture the C Flight in this year’s Debii Dollar Conant Women’s Tournament with a 3-1 win over the Rockstars (Ann Terranova, Amelia Gilroy, Suki Piper, Roxy Keyfauver, Cameron Smith and Susan Cooley) and a 5-2 victory over Poise Polo Divas (Megan Kozminski, Mary Masterson, Eileen Duffy and Stephanie Davidson).

Savanna Broderick’s Corky received Best Playing Pony honors.

Poway wins ladies C flight in Debii $$ Conant Women’s Tournament. Becky Clark, Blair Palmer, Savannah Broderick, Lizzy Peck and Nancy Louie.

Photos by Jim Bremner

Print Friendly